Who Won the IPL 2023?

by Scribs
Who Won the Indian Premier League in 2023

The IPL 2023 concluded with a thrilling final match between the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni and the Gujarat Titans. In a display of skill and determination, CSK emerged victorious, clinching the IPL trophy for the fifth time. This remarkable achievement also equaled the record set by the Mumbai Indians for winning the tournament the most number of times.

The final match showcased the competitive spirit and talent of both IPL 2023 teams as they battled it out on the field. CSK, known for their consistent performance throughout the tournament, showcased their experience and strategic gameplay. Led by the seasoned captain Dhoni, CSK’s players displayed their skills in batting, bowling, and fielding, contributing to their team’s success.

Chennai Super Kings vs Gujarat Titans final review

In a highly anticipated match between the defending champions, Gujarat Titans, led by Hardik Pandya, and one of the most powerful teams in IPL 2023, Chennai Super Kings (CSK) led by Mahendra Singh Dhoni, it was CSK who emerged victorious in a thrilling encounter.

Winning the toss, CSK elected to field first, putting Gujarat Titans into bat. The Titans put up a strong total of 214 runs in their allotted 20 overs. Sai Sudharshan, the left-handed batsman, was the standout performer for the Titans, scoring an impressive 96 runs from just 47 deliveries before getting dismissed LBW by Matheesha Pathirana. Wriddhiman Saha contributed with a solid 54 runs from 39 deliveries before falling to a catch by MS Dhoni off Deepak Chahar’s delivery.

Dhoni’s presence was felt not only behind the stumps but also in his captaincy decisions. He played a crucial role in the dismissal of the in-form batsman, Shubman Gill, as his lightning-quick stumping off Ravindra Jadeja’s bowling caught Gill out of his crease.

Pathirana proved to be the most successful bowler for CSK, taking two wickets while conceding 44 runs in his four overs. Tushar Deshpande, on the other hand, had a tough outing, going wicketless and conceding 56 runs in his four overs.

However, rain interrupted the game after just three balls into CSK’s innings, resulting in a revised target of 171 runs from 15 overs. CSK’s openers, Devon Conway and Ruturaj Gaikwad, got off to a flying start, scoring 52 runs in the powerplay. They continued their attacking display, adding 72 runs in the first six overs.

However, Noor Ahmad of Gujarat Titans managed to break the partnership by dismissing Gaikwad for 26 runs off 16 deliveries. In the same over, he also claimed the wicket of Conway, who scored 47 runs from 25 deliveries.

Despite the wickets falling, CSK remained in the hunt, thanks to some crucial hits by Ajinkya Rahane. However, Mohit Sharma proved to be the nemesis for CSK as he dismissed Rahane for 27 runs off 13 balls. Shivam Dube struggled initially but found his rhythm and smashed consecutive deliveries from Rashid Khan for sixes. Ambati Rayudu, playing his last game of the IPL career, joined in the fireworks by hitting two sixes and a boundary before getting out attempting another big shot off Sharma.

With the game hanging in the balance, CSK captain Dhoni walked in but was unable to make an impact, scoring a golden duck as Mohit Sharma struck once again. The match came down to the wire, with CSK needing 13 runs off the final over bowled by Sharma.

He bowled two brilliant yorkers and a full delivery, keeping the Titans’ hopes alive as CSK required 11 runs from three balls. Jadeja, known for his big-hitting abilities, smashed a six off the fifth delivery, intensifying the drama. CSK needed four runs off the last ball, and a wayward legside delivery from Sharma helped Jadeja guide the ball down the leg for a boundary, securing a dramatic victory for CSK.

You may also like